Blogamucil (aka, I do not care about SEO)

3 Jun

Growing up, my favorite grandmother (Grandma Anna) taught me about regularity. My brother and I spent summers with her, and it was a blast. She had a daily routine that started off with Tang, a cigarette, Metamucil (orange-flavored) and her favorite coffee cake made by hand from a recipe from her father’s German family. My brother and I played hide-and-seek in the big cabinets in her kitchen, a renovated stable. We ran around the big grounds of the family for whom she did light chores (the Hafts, in Reynoldsburg), climbing pine trees as high up as we could go and getting sap all over our hands. There was a huge tree that had a hollowed out trunk we loved to climb into. You could hide there for hours (well, it seemed like hours).

When we returned to her house in the evening after a long day of play, she made us meatloaf and mashed potatoes. She watched us while we ate, and she drank half a beer (Blatz, the other half of which would be finished the next night), smoked a cigarette and had some more Metamucil. Sometimes she tried to cut our bangs, which always got her into trouble with my mother. She would let us watch T.V. shows about aliens (which scared me) but would not let us watch Gunsmoke or any other program with guns. I slept in the same bed with Grandma (who snored), and my brother slept beside us in a cot.

The next day: Wake up and repeat. That was a great summer.

Blogging is like this. Get up and do your routine. Hopefully making a meaningful contribution to the blog will be part of it.

The only problem is that for me routine is not always easy to latch onto. I operate best in spurts of activity. Sometimes I am in need of Blogamucil. Now is one of those times. I write so much for work that the act of not writing is cleansing and good for me. Other times writing for non-work purposes is cathartic.

Honestly, I think I’ve spent myself on Alsop’s The 18 Immutable Laws of Corporate Reputation. It wasn’t you—it was me, Ron. You inspired me, but I ran out of steam. Rest assured, I am finishing the book but not writing more about it.

Next up: Some musings on Martin Lindstrom’s Buyology. And some info from my readings to prepare for my APR.

Leave a Reply

