The Freshman

6 Sep

Today is my firstborn’s first day of her first year of high school.

I am too overwhelmed to write much about it, but in her honor I am posting the link to a well-written new online mag for teenage girls called Rookie, where a friend’s daughter is now a columnist.

Remembering my own first day of high school, all I can say is that I hope my daughter enjoys hers more than I did mine. I was too nervous to truly appreciate it.

What a special milestone, for both The Freshman and her parents!

2 Responses to “The Freshman”

  1. Dawn September 6, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    Congratulations to you both! I bet she is gonna do great!!!

    • toknowbetter September 6, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

      Thanks, Dawn! Did you read any of the Rookie stories? It’s pretty good, very a propos for Katie right now. My friend’s daughter (one of their columnists) is Sady Doyle. She is a 20-something feminist writer who has penned some very provocative pieces. I think you will like her stuff.

Leave a Reply

