Your Opinion Matters

31 Dec

This week I experimented with crowdsourcing opinion on some new eyeglass frames.

It was a painful process and decidedly a situation where the warning, “Be careful what you ask for,” hit me in the gut.

Here’s the photo post that launched a host of comments:

Twenty people told me no, and the votes are still coming in. (This is not counting all of my family members, who also gave a unanimous and repeatedly emphasized thumbs-down.)

I should have known it was going to be bad from the start, when cousin David commented almost instantly:

Cousin David always compliments me. He’s a southern gentleman. While tactfully leaving room for another option that could be positive, this was decidedly NOT a compliment.

Meanwhile, people I haven’t heard from in years gave the glasses the thumbs-down. I haven’t made a post that has garnered this much extreme opinion EVER.

Very good friends were delightfully candid. This type of brevity was telling:

Many friends echoed with similar “to-the-point” reactions, along with additional guidance and welcome honest feedback:

This comment from a former Bexley neighbor sealed the deal:

Even after I reported back that I had decided not to get the frames, the comments continued to roll in.

I appreciate everyone’s efforts to save me from myself. Your opinion matters.

Clearly, I am not qualified to select glasses without supervision. In a fit of wanting to try something different, I went with the cool clear frames, a little bit bigger, with the benefit of being 100% recycled. Alas, I am not cool enough for these frames. They are different, but in a bad way.

And, as my husband wisely observed:

Who wants clear frames? It’s like people who try to hide their a$$es. What’s the point?

You need glasses, and you wear bifocals, so why not go big?

Correction, dahling: I wear PROGRESSIVE LENSES, not bifocals.

I made the trip to the optician’s again today and selected cat-eye frames that are much smaller, blonde tortoise-shell with blue on the flip side. I like them, my husband likes them, and everybody else had better like them.

I am not posting a picture until after they arrive and I’ve been wearing them for a while.

 

 

2 Responses to “Your Opinion Matters”

  1. Christie December 31, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    i love you!

  2. Jodi December 31, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    Great read but I have one point of correction: It’s NOT that you aren’t cool enough for those frames. Those frames are not cool enough for YOU.

Leave a Reply

