Apres Zumba

22 Jun
Image

Image: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Tonight was my first Zumba class ever.

It reminded me a lot of aerobics. Combined with dance moves that don’t come naturally for people of English origin. My genes don’t take kindly to shoulder rolls, meringue, or excessive hip-shaking.They upset the natural balance of being uptight and anxiety-ridden.

But I did it anyway, and it was kind of fun.

Plus I didn’t fall down or run into anyone else, which means that I consider the experience a win for myself and a few other ladies.

I’m confident that if evaluated on my technique and/or artistry, I would have scored in the bottom decile of the class. My contribution pretty much involved bouncing around like a goofball for an hour, a few beats behind the instructor at all times, trying not to APPEAR too winded.

I was careful to position myself in the back of the room, well behind my daughter who was also in the class. Two reasons for this: Not wanting to embarrass her, and if I couldn’t see the instructor I could watch my daughter and figure out what I was supposed to be doing.

One benefit to the Zumba is that the instructor didn’t seem quite as intent as my yoga instructor on killing me during the class. I didn’t feel close to death at any time, which also gives Zumba extra points.

2 Responses to “Apres Zumba”

  1. Zanni Arnot June 22, 2012 at 12:17 am #

    Zumba is such a funny, fun exercise, i think. I wrote about my one and only Zumba class too a while back http://heartmama.net/2011/09/26/mum-dance/
    I like your post 🙂

    • toknowbetter June 22, 2012 at 12:41 am #

      Thanks, Zanni. I like your post about Zumba as well. I too have become one of those embarrassing dancing moms…there’s delightful freedom in it.

Leave a Reply

